Sara Duterte, Robin Padilla, Freddie Aguilar among PDP-Laban's 2019 senatorial bets

Sherrie Ann Torres, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Aug 16 2018 03:08 PM | Updated as of Aug 16 2018 03:52 PM

Sara Duterte, Robin Padilla, Freddie Aguilar among PDP-Laban's 2019 senatorial bets 1

MANILA- The ruling Partido Demokratiko Pilipino–Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) party has revealed the personalities that may comprise its senatorial slate for the 2019 elections.

In a letter to President Rodrigo Duterte on Wednesday, PDP-Laban president Sen. Aquilino "Koko" Pimentel III bared 19 names including his own, that the political party is considering for its senatorial slate.

Pimentel is seeking Duterte's comment as chairman of the party on personalities that PDP-Laban will field for the upcoming elections.

Here are the names Pimentel suggested:


1. Special assistant to the President Christopher "Bong" Go
2. Presidential political adviser Francis Tolentino
3. Sen. Aquilino "Koko" Pimentel III 
4. Davao City Rep. Karlo Nograles
5. Maguindanao Rep. Zajid “Dong” Mangudadatu
6. Bataan Rep. Geraldine Roman
7. Makati Rep. Monsour Del Rosario
8. Folk singer Freddie Aguilar
9. Broadcast journalist Jiggy Manicad
10. Negros Occidental Rep. Alfredo “Albee” Benitez
11. Quirino Rep. Dakila Carlo “Dax” Cua


1. Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio
2. Bureau of Corrections Director Ronald “Bato” dela Rosa
3. Actor Robin Padilla
4. Actor and former Sen. Lito Lapid
5. Former Interior Secretary Rafael "Raffy" Alunan
6. Columnist Ramon Tulfo
7. Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque
8. Taguig Rep. Pia Cayetano

Pimentel, in his letter, also informed the President that aside from the above-mentioned names, part of their bench are the 5 reelectionist senators:

1. Cynthia Villar
2. Sonny Angara
3. JV Ejercito
4. Grace Poe
5. Nancy Binay

- With reports from Arianne Merez, ABS-CBN News