Liberal Party ratifies leadership of Robredo, Pangilinan


Posted at Aug 10 2017 08:52 PM

The Liberal Party on Thursday ratified the party chairmanship of Vice President Leni Robredo and the party presidency of Sen. Francis Pangilinan. Handout

MANILA- Vice President Leni Robredo is now officially the chairperson of the Liberal Party, whose key members are part of the opposition.

On Thursday, the party's national executive council ratified Robredo's chairmanship as well as the party presidency of Sen. Francis Pangilinan.

Former President Benigno Aquino III meanwhile was conferred the title chairman emeritus.

Pangilinan, in his report, said he plans to rebuild a "genuine people’s party" and tap people from the academe, basic sectors, civil society organizations, and faith-based sectors among others to join.

“Sa krisis, sinasabi nila, nariyan din ang oportunidad. At narito tayo humaharap sa oportunidad na palakasin ang ating partido upang maging tunay na partido ng taumbayan,” said Pangilinan, who is part of the Senate minority.

Since President Rodrigo Duterte assumed office, several members of the Liberal Party has shifted alliances to the now ruling Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban).

Some LP members are, meanwhile, aligned with the super majority in Congress. 

Pangilinan previously said that the Liberal Party has been portrayed as a "yellow demon" due to its critical stance towards the administration.

Among those who attended Thursday's meeting at the UP University Hotel are Senate Minority Leader Franklin Drilon, Sen. Bam Aquino, former LP presidents Mar Roxas, Butch Abad, and Wigberto Tañada, former House Speaker Sonny Belmonte, and Representatives Kit Belmonte, Nene Sato, Teddy Baguilat, Edcel Lagman, Raul Daza, and Bolet Banal.