House replaces Arroyo, Santos as committee leaders

RG Cruz, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Aug 09 2017 11:36 PM

The House of Representatives on Wednesday replaced former president and now Pampanga Rep. Gloria Macapagal Arroyo and Batangas Rep. Vilma Santos, who voted against the reinstatement of the death penalty.

Bulacan Rep. Linabelle Villarica was elected as deputy speaker for Central Luzon, replacing Arroyo.

Isabela Rep. Ana Cristina Go replaced Villarica as chairperson of the foreign affairs committee.

Batangas Rep. Marvey Mariño replaced Santos as chairperson of the civil service and professional regulation committee.

Arroyo and Santos were among the House leaders who did not back the death penalty bill despite the threat of losing their leadership positions.