House minority leadership row remains unresolved

RG Cruz, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Aug 06 2018 08:49 PM

House minority leadership row remains unresolved 1
Quezon Representative Danilo Suarez, former Majority Leader Rodolfo Fariñas and Marikina Representative Miro Quimbo. Composite

MANILA - After a three-hour interpellation on the House minority leadership row, the House of Representatives adjourned its plenary session on Monday with the issue still unresolved.

Quezon Representative Danilo Suarez is holding onto his post as the Minority leader—a post he held under previous Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez.

Suarez claims the minority leadership after long interpellations by the House minority congressmen of Senior Deputy Majority Leader Rodante Marcoleta.

Marcoleta delivered a privilege speech which later turned out to be a motion for the plenary to affirm the recognition of Suarez made by Majority Leader Rolando Andaya Jr. last week.

The motion drew protests from the various parties claiming the minority leadership, such as the groups of former Majority Leader Rodolfo Fariñas and Marikina Representative Miro Quimbo. 

Quimbo leads a 26-man LP-Makabayan bloc while Fariñas is from the bloc of Alvarez. 

Suarez voted for House Speaker Gloria Macapagal Arroyo in the last leadership change at the House.

The objections came from Caloocan Rep. Edgar Erice, Quimbo, Fariñas and ABS Party List Eugene Michael de Vera. 

Buhay Party List Lito Atienza, for his part, defended the Suarez bloc’s track record for fiscalizing the sitting speaker.

Marcoleta dismissed questions on Suarez’s capacity to fiscalize Arroyo after he voted for her speakership, saying Suarez’s vote is not guarantee he wont be an effective check and balance to Arroyo.

Quimbo argued about the absurdity of having a minority leader who voted for the speaker.