House elects delegates to Commission on Appointments, House Electoral Tribunal

RG Cruz, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Aug 03 2022 11:12 PM | Updated as of Aug 05 2022 12:30 PM

Preparations go underway  ABS-CBN News/File
Preparations go underway at the House of Representatives in Quezon City on July 20, 2022. Mark Demayo, ABS-CBN News/File

MANILA (UPDATE)—The House of Representatives has elected its delegates to 2 powerful bodies—the Commission on Appointments (CA) and the House of Representatives Electoral Tribunal (HRET). 

For the CA, the House elected the following:

  • Pangasinan Rep. Ramon Guico Jr.
  • Cavite Rep. Lani Mercado-Revilla
  • Camiguin Rep. Jurdin Jesus Romualdo
  • Bataan Rep. Albert Garcia
  • Camarines Sur Rep. Luis Raymund “Lray” Villafuerte Jr.
  • Negros Oriental Rep. Manuel Sagarbarria
  • Bacolod City Rep. Greg Gasataya
  • SAGIP Partylist Rep. Rodante Marcoleta
  • Surigao del Sur Rep. Johnny Ty Pimentel
  • GP PARTY Partylist Rep. Jose Gay Padiernos. 

For the HRET, the House elected:

These bodies are considered plum positions in the hierarchy of the chamber. The CA has a say on who sits in the administration as they can confirm or reject presidential appointees. 

Under Article 6, Section 18 of the 1987 Constitution, the CA consists of the President of the Senate, as ex-officio Chairman, 12 Senators, and 12 Members of the House of Representatives, elected by each House on the basis of proportional representation from the political parties and parties of organizations registered under the party-list system. 

The Constitution mandates in Article 7, Section 16 that the "President shall nominate and, with the consent of the Commission on Appointments, appoint the heads of the executive departments, ambassadors, other public ministers and consuls, or officers of the armed forces from the rank of colonel or naval captain, and other officers whose appointments are vested in him in this constitution."

The HRET meanwhile has a say in who sits in the House as it resolves electoral protests and cases pertaining to the members of the House.

It is composed of 9 members, 3 of whom are Justices of the Supreme Court, as designated by the Chief Justice. The remaining 6 are members of the House.

The HRET shall be constituted within 30 days after the House of Representatives shall have been organized with the election of the Speaker.

Meanwhile, the plenary session also elected during the plenary session Bohol Rep. Kristine Alexie Tutor as chairperson of the Committee on Civil Service and Professional Regulation, and San Jose Del Monte City Rep. Florida “Rida” Robes as chairperson of the Committee on Good Government and Public Accountability.


In an ANC interview Friday, Villafuerte said the body must ensure the integrity, competence and fitness of the nominees.

"As part of the Commission on Appointments, we have to ensure the appointees are validated and actually probed as soon as possible," he said.

Villafuerte said the body must immediately act on Marcos' appointees "because he has laid out his priorities, particularly on the economic agenda".

Asked which position should be top priority, he said all are of equal importance.

"I think everything is priority," he said.

Villafuerte noted there would be no thorough deliberations needed for the Department of Agriculture and Department of Education. 

Marcos awarded himself the agriculture portfolio to address the looming food crisis. Meanwhile, Vice President Sara Duterte-Carpio is at the helm of DepEd.

Villafuerte said they are only waiting for the complete list of Senate delegates to the CA before they can convene.