Duterte to convene National Security Council


Posted at Jul 26 2016 04:08 PM

President Rodrigo Duterte in a Cabinet meeting. ABS-CBN News file photo

MANILA – President Rodrigo Duterte will convene the National Security Council (NSC) tomorrow.

Malacañang said Duterte will convene the NSC ''in order to agree on vital policies and strategies on important matters, including the recent ruling of the Permanent Court of Arbitration on the West Philippine Sea."

The council is composed of 35 leader-members from the executive and legislative branches of government, such as Vice President Leni Robredo, Senate President Aquilino Pimentel III, House Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez, the majority and minority leaders of both Houses of Congress, chairs of Senate and House committees involved in national security concerns, and various members of the Cabinet.

Also included in the council are former Presidents Benigno Aquino III, Gloria Macapagal Arroyo, Joseph Estrada, and Fidel Ramos.

Malacañang said that an overview of the road map for peace and development shall be presented in the first council meeting. The council will also be given an update on the government's campaign against illegal drugs.

Duterte decided to convene the NSC in the wake of arbitral tribunal's ruling invalidating China's massive South China Sea claim.

Ramos, a member of the council, earlier agreed to become Manila's special envoy to Beijing.