House 'Game of Thrones' eclipses third SONA


Posted at Jul 23 2018 08:46 PM | Updated as of Jul 23 2018 10:02 PM

It was a power struggle that eclipsed the third State of the Nation Address (SONA) of President Rodrigo Duterte. 

Minutes before the President delivered his address before Congress, former President and now Pampanga Congresswoman Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo climbed the rostrum as 161 lawmakers voted for the former president to replace Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez as the chamber’s leader.

It took over an hour before Duterte finally delivered his speech after talking to both Alvarez and Arroyo.

Alvarez still took his place beside Senate President Tito Sotto during the 3rd SONA after an apparent accord to settle the leadership row after the President's speech. 

12:28 pm - Amid rumors of a possible shake-up in the House leadership, lawmakers loyal to Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez adjourn the Lower House session without ratifying the Bangsamoro Organic Law. Jonathan Cellona, ABS-CBN News

3:30 pm - Minutes before President Duterte was to give his third State of the Nation Address, former President Arroyo talks to a number of lawmakers that would elect her Speaker of the House. Jonathan Cellona, ABS-CBN News

3:45 pm - Arroyo steps on the rostrum and appears to be shouting instructions to legislators as the audio system was turned off. Jonathan Cellona, ABS-CBN News

3:46 pm - Arroyo bangs the gavel, signaling the start of the session. Jonathan Cellona, ABS-CBN News

3:49 pm - Arroyo takes her oath as Speaker of the House of Representatives with lawmakers who apparently supported her bid. Jonathan Cellona, ABS-CBN News

3:50 pm - Arroyo waves to the gallery accompanied by lawmakers who apparently voted her to the House Speakership. Jonathan Cellona, ABS-CBN News

3:56 pm - Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez and other officials welcome President Duterte upon his arrival at the Batasang Pambansa before the SONA. The SONA is delayed for more than an hour as the President talks to Alvarez and Arroyo about the House leadership row. RTVM

5:05 pm - Alvarez takes the rostrum with Senate President Tito Sotto before the SONA. A lawmaker says there is talk that the House leadership will change after the President's address.. Jonathan Cellona, ABS-CBN News

5:20 pm - President Duterte delivers his State of the Nation Address flanked by Senate President Vicente Sotto III and Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez. Jonathan Cellona, ABS-CBN News

8:44 pm - The House mace is returned to the Lower Chamber's plenary hall, allowing congressmen to resume sessions. Lawmakers move to declare the position of Speaker vacant. Mrs. Arroyo is voted Speaker, with 184 affirmative votes and 12 abstentions. Jonathan Cellona, ABS-CBN News

8:50 pm - Arroyo takes her oath as Speaker of the House of Representatives for the second time. Jonathan Cellona, ABS-CBN News