Batanes, Dinagat Islands among provinces with zero COVID-19 cases

Davinci Maru, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Jul 22 2020 07:39 PM

Batanes, Dinagat Islands among provinces with zero COVID-19 cases 1
File photo

MANILA - As the novel coronavirus continues to rage in parts of the country, 4 provinces have been spared from the COVID-19 pandemic, the Department of Health (DOH) said Wednesday.

The provinces of Aurora, Batanes, Dinagat Islands and Quirino, as of July 21, remain COVID-19 free, said Dr. Beverly Lorraine Ho, DOH director for health promotion and communication service.

"Bukod sa pagiging isolated dahil isla ang iba sa mga probinsiyang ito, ipinagmamalaki po namin at inaanyayahan na ipagpatuloy po natin ang mga measures na kanilang nasimulan to make sure na wala silang kaso ng COVID-19," Ho said.

The health official praised the local government units (LGUs) of the coronavirus-free provinces for being vigilant and observing public health standards.

"Kinikilala po ng DOH ang mga hakbang na ginagawa ng mga LGUs upang pagbutihin din ang contact tracing at monitoring ng COVID-19 cases at sana magsilbi silang ehemplo sa iba pang LGUs," Ho said.

The number of COVID-19 cases in the Philippines soared to 72,269, with 1,594 new infections reported Wednesday. Of the cumulative total, 46,803 are active cases wherein 90.1 percent are exhibiting mild symptoms.

The areas with newly-announced infections are Metro Manila (971), Cebu (252), Zamboanga del Sur (53), Negros Occidental (35) and Rizal (26).

Meanwhile, the top regions with active cases are Metro Manila (22,861), Central Visayas (7,927), Calabarzon (3,462), Central Luzon (991) and Western Visayas (455), latest data from the health ministry showed.

The county recorded its first confirmed COVID-19 case on Jan. 30 in a Chinese woman who arrived from the Chinese city of Wuhan where the disease was first detected.

Watch more on iWantTFC