Mark Villar is lone billionaire in Duterte Cabinet

Dharel Placido, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Jul 20 2017 05:30 PM | Updated as of Jul 20 2017 06:43 PM

Public Works Secretary Mark Villar

MANILA– Public Works Secretary Mark Villar is the lone billionaire in President Rodrigo Duterte’s Cabinet, the 2016 Statements of Assets, Liabilities, and Net Worth (SALN) of officials revealed.

The public works secretary, son of real estate tycoons Manny Villar, a former senator, and incumbent Sen. Cynthia Villar, has a net worth of P1.409 billion. 

His assets are worth P1.423 billion, while he has liabilities amounting to P14.52 million, according to a copy of his SALN released by Malacañang.

Villar listed 7 real properties worth P134.86 million, while the rest of his properties are valued P1.289 billion.

Villar is followed by Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez III, who has a net worth of P351.86 million.

Among Duterte’s Cabinet members, only National Anti-Poverty Commission Secretary Liza Maza and Agrarian Reform Secretary Rafael Mariano are non-millionaires. Maza and Mariano’s net worth are P730,716 and P273,629.58, respectively.

Below is the complete list of Cabinet members and their net worth, ranked from highest to lowest:

1. Public Works Secretary Mark Villar - P1.4 billion

2. Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez III - P351.86 million

3. Information and Communications Secretary Rodolfo Salalima - P304.96 million

4. Transportation Secretary Arthur Tugade - P301.99 million

5. Former Environment Secretary Gina Lopez - P266.47 million

6. Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi - P162.7 million

7. Communications Secretary Martin Andanar - P152.27 million

8. Socioeconomic Planning Secretary Ernesto Pernia - P105.43 million

9. Foreign Affairs Secretary Alan Cayetano - P54.73 million

10. Trade Secretary Ramon Lopez – P50.5 million

11. Tourism Secretary Wanda Teo - P44.9 million

12. Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process Jesus Dureza - P40.04 million

13. Justice Secretary Vitaliano Aguirre II - P37.63 million

14. Agriculture Secretary Manny Piñol - P25.6 million

15. National Security Adviser Hermogenes Esperon Jr. - P22.24 million

16. Budget Secretary Benjamin Diokno - P19.81 million

17. National Intelligence Coordinating Agency Director General Alex Paul Monteagudo – P16.5 million

18. Labor Secretary Silvestre Bello III - P15.45 million

19. Department of the Interior and Local Government officer-in-charge Catalino Cuy – P14.7 million

20. National Commission on Muslim Filipinos Secretary Yasmin Lao - P13.9 million

21. Presidential Management Staff Acting Head Ferdinand Cui Jr. - P7.98 million

22. Science and Technology Secretary Fortunato Dela Peña - P7.45 million

23. Education Secretary Leonor Briones - P4.38 million

24. Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana - P3.65 million

25. Social Welfare Secretary Judy Taguiwalo - P1.97 million

26. Health Secretary Paulyn Ubial – P1.16 million

27. National Anti-Poverty Commission Secretary Liza Maza - P730, 716

28. Agrarian Reform Secretary Rafael Mariano - P273, 629.58