4 new peace negotiators take oath before Duterte


Posted at Jul 19 2016 02:25 PM

Video courtesy of Radio-Television Malacañang

MANILA - President Rodrigo Duterte on Tuesday led the oath-taking of four new members of the Government of the Philippines (GPH) Peace Panel.

The new peace panel members include Hernani Braganza, and lawyers Rene Sarmiento, Angela Librado-Trinidad and Noel Felongco.

Their oath-taking was held at Malacañang after the President and several Cabinet members discussed a peace road map presented by the Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process (OPAPP) Secretary Jesus Dureza.

Dureza earlier said the road map will incorporate inputs from different stakeholders.

"We’ll do a lot of consultations, look at realities today as they stand, and then craft a new way. But definitely, from the message coming from President-elect Duterte, there must be inclusivity," he said.

"Mag-implement na tayo ng agreement, wala nang kanya-kanya, wala nang paksyon-paksyon, left or right, wala nang MN[LF] or MI[LF]. It has to be one Bangsamoro for the Bangsamoro, one peace road map for everybody," he added.

Duterte is working on negotiations with separatists and leftists in a bid to end the decades-long Muslim and communist insurgencies that have claimed hundreds of thousands of lives.

READ: Duterte tells military: Peace not war

He is also pushing for a shift to a federal form of government, which he claims will more effectively distribute resources to the south.