ERC to implement suspension of officials on Monday


Posted at Jul 06 2018 11:22 PM

MANILA - Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC) chairperson Agnes Devanadera said she will serve the suspension of four officials on Monday following Malacañang's order.

In a statement, Devanadera said two of the four suspended ERC officials are set to retire on Tuesday.

"ERC received the Memo on the suspension of the four Commissioners from the Office of the Exec Secretary close to 6 p.m. By then I already left the office," she said.

"I will be able to serve the suspension on the Commissioners only on Monday at the earliest. Anyway, two of them will be retiring on July 10. For this reason, we at ERC have prepared for a transition period."

Devanadera said their office "shall remain open and ready to render services except those which require the action of the Commission en banc."

ERC Commissioners Alfredo Non, Gloria Victoria Yap-Taruc, Josefina Patricia Asirit and Geronimo Sta. Ana were recently ordered suspended by the Ombudsman for three months for “neglect of duty” for allegedly tolerating the misuse of bill deposits by Meralco.

National Association of Electricity Consumers for Reforms (NASECORE) had accused the 4 ERC officials of neglect of duty after power consumers failed to earn interest from the bill deposit fund, said the group's executive director, Rafael Acebedo.

NASECORE filed a complaint against the commissioners before the Ombudsman. The same officials had secured a temporary restraining order against a one-year suspension for a separate case. --With a report from Alvin Elchico, ABS-CBN News