11 Anti-Terror Law protesters arrested in Laguna


Posted at Jul 04 2020 09:57 PM | Updated as of Jul 04 2020 11:00 PM

MANILA (UPDATE) - Eleven people protesting the Anti-Terror Law were arrested by government forces in Cabuyao City, Laguna on Saturday.

Those arrested were members of groups Karapatan, Bayan, Gabriela, BM Youth, Liga ng Manggagawa, Starter Piston, Pamantik KMU and Kabataan.

The demonstrators, including 3 minors, were detained at Cabuyao Municipal Police Station.

"Hindi pa naipatutupad ang batas, ganito na agad kasahol ang ginagawa ng mga pulis laban sa kung sino mang magsalita laban sa pamahalaan," said Justin Umali, chairperson of Kabataan party-list Laguna.

The youth party-list group said the rallyists were arrested by soldiers and police as they were packing up in Barangay Pulo past 5 p.m.

Before the incident, a military vehicle was parked near the barangay hall blasting propaganda against the groups as suspected front organizations of the communist movement, Kabataan party-list Laguna added.

President Rodrigo Duterte on Friday signed the counterterrorism measure into law despite wide opposition.

The Anti-Terrorism Act of 2020, which critics feared could be weaponized against legitimate dissent, grants government sweeping powers to address terrorism.

The law allows state forces to wiretap suspected terrorists, arrest them without warrants and hold them without charge for 14 days, among other provisions.

-- With a report from Jeffrey Hernaez, ABS-CBN News