Duterte: Metro Manila, other cities stay under GCQ

Arianne Merez, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Jul 01 2020 12:29 AM | Updated as of Jul 01 2020 01:11 AM

Duterte: Metro Manila, other cities stay under GCQ 1
The usually busy Mango Avenue in Cebu City is empty during the COVID-19 lockdown on June 16, 2020. Cheryl Baldicantos, ABS-CBN News

MANILA (UPDATE) -- Prevailing community quarantine protocols in urban hubs Cebu City and Metro Manila will extend until July 15, President Rodrigo Duterte announced Tuesday.

Metro Manila will remain under general community quarantine while Cebu City will remain under enhanced community quarantine.

Aside from Metro Manila, the provinces of Benguet, Cavite, Rizal, Leyte and Southern Leyte, and the cities of Lapu-Lapu, Mandaue and Ormoc are also under general community quarantine.

Talisay City, which was formally under modified enhanced community quarantine, has been placed under general community quarantine, along with the towns of Minglanilla and Consolacion.

The rest of Cebu province has been placed under modified general community quarantine.

The following areas are also under MGCQ:

  • Abra
  • Baguio City
  • Ifugao
  • Kalinga
  • Ilocos Norte
  • La Union
  • Pangasinan
  • Cagayan
  • Isabela
  • Bataan
  • Bulacan
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Pampanga
  • Angeles City
  • Batangas
  • Laguna
  • Quezon
  • Lucena City
  • Palawan
  • Puerto Princesa City
  • Albay
  • Camarines Norte
  • Camarines Sur
  • Naga City
  • Capiz
  • Iloilo
  • Iloilo City
  • Negros Occidental
  • Bacolod City
  • the rest of Cebu province
  • Bohol
  • Negros Oriental
  • Tacloban City
  • Western Samar
  • Zamboanga City
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Bukidnon
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Cagayan de Oro
  • Davao del Norte
  • Davao del Sur
  • Davao City
  • Davao de Oro
  • Cotabato
  • South Cotabato
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Butuan City
  • Lanao del Sur 
  • Maguindanao

The rest of the country is now under low-risk modified general community quarantine.

The capital region first transitioned to a general community quarantine at the start of June from a modified enhanced community quarantine as the government sought to restart economic activity. 

Metro Manila has long been the epicenter of the COVID-19 outbreak in the Philippines but recently government officials have reported Cebu City and Cebu Province as among the emerging hotspots because of the recent spike in cases.

The rise in infections in Cebu City prompted President Duterte to place the Visayan urban hub under the "strictest lockdown" at the start of June to control the transmission of the disease.

He also assigned Environment Secretary Roy Cimatu, a former military chief, to oversee the quarantine of the city that is home to 900,000 people.

The new coronavirus restrictions were announced on the same day that COVID-19 cases in the Philippines surged past 37,000, with 1,080 new infections.

To date, the country has 25,227 active cases, of which nearly 96 percent are exhibiting mild symptoms. There are meanwhile 942 patients who are asymptomatic, 122 are in severe condition, and 26 are considered critical.