READ: Proclamation of martial law in Mindanao


Posted at May 24 2017 11:29 PM | Updated as of May 25 2017 12:09 AM

MANILA – The Palace on Wednesday released Proclamation No. 216, declaring a state of martial law and suspending the privilege of the writ of habeas corpus in Mindanao.

The proclamation, signed by President Rodrigo Duterte and Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea, cites passages from the 1987 Constitution and the Revised Penal Code, as amended by Republic Act No. 6968, which provide for the declaration of martial law by the country's chief executive.

Section 18, Article VII of the Constitution says the president can suspend the privilege of the writ of habeas corpus or place the country or any part of it under martial law, "in case of invasion or rebellion, when the public safety requires it."

Article 134 of the Revised Penal Code, meanwhile defines rebellion or insurrection as "rising and taking arms against the government."

Duterte on Tuesday declared a 60-day martial law in Mindanao due to the Maute group's attack in Marawi City.

"This recent attack shows the capability of the Maute group and other rebel groups to sow terror, and cause death and damage to property not only in Lanao del Sur but also in other parts of Mindanao," the proclamation said.