Science and Technology chief still highest paid Cabinet secretary

Adrian Ayalin, ABS-CBN News

Posted at May 23 2019 08:06 PM

MANILA - Department of Science and Technology Secretary Fortunato Dela Pena remained the highest paid Cabinet official, based on the latest Report on Salaries and Allowances (ROSA) for 2018 of the Commission on Audit.

Dela Pena earned P4,137,678 as DOST secretary in 2018. He also also topped the list of highest-paid cabinet secretaries in 2017.

Dela Pena is at 131st place in the list dominated by Government Owned and Controlled Corporations (GOCCs) such as the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, Development Bank of the Philippines, and Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation.

Other highest-paid officials in the Duterte Cabinet after Dela Pena are the following:

Education Secretary Leonor Briones - P3,950,357
Health Secretary Francisco Duque III - P3,714,783
Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez III - P3,705,788
Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi - P3,529,352
Transportation Secretary Arthur Tugade - P3,527,332
Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea - P3,492,189
Labor Secretary Silvestre Bello III - P3,492,144
Agriculture Secretary Emmanuel Piñol - P3,490,585
Chief Presidential Legal Counsel Salvador Panelo - P3,489,791
Trade Secretary Ramon Lopez - P3,468,646
Budget Secretary Benjamin Diokno - P3,442,363
Agrarian Reform Secretary John Castriciones - P3,434,115
Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana - P3,412,363
Public Works Secretary Mark Villar - P3,371,826
Economic Planning Secretary Ernesto Pernia - P3,350,352
Environment Secretary Roy Cimatu - P3,329,352
National Security Council Director General Hermogenes Esperon Jr. - 3,321,352
Presidential Communications Operations Office Secretary Martin Andanar - P3,292,438
Metropolitan Manila Development Authority chairman Danilo Lim - P3,140,106
Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process Jesus Dureza - P3,081,184
Information and Communications Technology Acting Secretary Eliseo Rio Jr. - P2,928,410
Former National Anti-Poverty Commission Secretary Liza Maza - P2,890,107
NAPC Secretary Noel Felongco - P437,737
Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra - P2,866,838
Former Justice Secretary Vitaliano Aguirre - P995,066.89
Former Technical Education and Skills Development Authority Secretary Guiling Mamondiong - P2,786,972.00
TESDA Secretary Isidro Lapeña - P501,293
Former Political Adviser Francis Tolentino - P2,764,504
Cabinet Secretary Leoncio Evasco Jr. - P2,723,979
Former Foreign Affairs Alan Peter Cayetano - P2,702,099
Foreign Affairs Secretary Teodoro Locsin Jr. - P812,049
Interior Secretary Eduardo Año - P2,650,277.28
Former Presidential Assistant Christopher Lawrence Go - P2,632,691
Tourism Secretary Bernadette Romulo-Puyat - P2,115,259.31
Former Tourism Secretary Wanda Corazon Tulfo-Teo - P1,192,495.43

The complete ROSA can be downloaded from the COA website: