Duterte reorganizes Cabinet clusters


Posted at May 21 2017 12:25 PM

Duterte reorganizes Cabinet clusters 1
President Rodrigo Duterte presides over a cabinet meeting at the State Dining Room in Malacañan Palace, Manila on 12 July 2016. Malacañang Photo

MANILA - President Rodrigo Duterte has reorganized the Cabinet cluster system to reflect his administration's priorities, according to an executive order obtained by ABS-CBN News on Sunday. 

Signed by Duterte last Tuesday, EO No. 24 created 2 new Cabinet groupings: the Participatory Governance cluster chaired by the Interior Secretary, and the Infrastructure cluster chaired by the Public Works Secretary. 

The Participatory Governance cluster shall "exert all efforts to enhance citizen participation in governmental processes," the EO said. 

The Infrastructure cluster meanwhile will focus on the administration's P8-trillion infrastructure program, according to Assistant Secretary Jonas Soriano, spokesman of the Office of the Cabinet Secretary. 

Duterte's EO 24 also reorganizes the following clusters: 

- Human Development and Poverty Reduction, chaired by the Social Welfare Secretary;
- Security, Justice, and Peace, chaired by the Defense Secretary;
- Climate Change Adaptation and Mitigation and Disaster Risk -
Reduction, chaired by the Environment Secretary; and 
- Economic Development, chaired by the Finance Secretary. 

This reorganization increases the total number of clusters to 6 from the original 5 clusters of former President Benigno Aquino. 

Aquino's clusters also reflected the priorities of his administration, including Good Governance and Anti-Corruption; Human Development and Poverty Reduction; Economic Development; Security, Justice, and Peace; and Climate Change Adaptation and Mitigation. 

Soriano said the objectives of Aquino's Good Governance cluster have been incorporated into all of Duterte's clusters. 

The assistant secretary added that Duterte's EO created the Cabinet Cluster System Secretariat (CCSS), which will be in charge of monitoring the performance of the clusters. 

The CCSS will be led by the Cabinet Secretary Leoncio Evasco Jr. 

Read the full executive order here: 

Duterte reorganizes Cabinet clusters 2
Duterte reorganizes Cabinet clusters 3
Duterte reorganizes Cabinet clusters 4
Duterte reorganizes Cabinet clusters 5
Duterte reorganizes Cabinet clusters 6
Duterte reorganizes Cabinet clusters 7
Duterte reorganizes Cabinet clusters 8
Duterte reorganizes Cabinet clusters 9

-- With a report from Dexter Ganibe, DZMM