Otso Diretso tops Senate race in Robredo bailiwick Naga

Katrina Domingo, ABS-CBN News

Posted at May 14 2019 09:23 PM

Otso Diretso senatorial hopefuls take a selfie during their thanksgiving concert in UP Diliman, May 8, 2019. Mark Demayo, ABS-CBN News

MANILA - Voters from Vice President Leni Robredo’s hometown Naga City delivered votes for all Otso Diretso candidates, and shut out PDP-Laban bets from the Magic 12 in the area.

Reelectionist Sen. Bam Aquino topped the list in Naga City with 56,000 votes.

Mar Roxas ranked second in the Bicolano city with 47,000 votes, followed by Chel Diokno with 43,000; Samira Gutoc with 42,000 and Gary Alejano with 40,000.

Former Quezon Rep. Erin Tañada tied with Sen. Grace Poe at 7th place with 37,000 votes from Naga.

Robredo’s election lawyer Romulo Macalintal came in at the 8th slot with 33,000 votes, while former Solicitor General Pilo Hilbay was the 9th placer with 30,000.

Aside from Poe, other non-Otso Diretso candidates who won in Naga City were Sen. Cynthia Villar, Taguig Rep. Pia Cayetano and Sen. Sonny Angara.

No candidate from President Rodrigo Duterte’s PDP-Laban slate won in Naga City.

There were 79,028 registered voters in Naga City.

Liberal Party’s Naga mayoral bet Nelson Legacion and his vice mayor Nene De Asis also won in the city that was led by Robredo’s late husband Jesse for nearly 20 years.