'Low risk' areas to be placed under modified general community quarantine: Palace

Arianne Merez, ABS-CBN News

Posted at May 13 2020 01:13 PM | Updated as of May 13 2020 02:49 PM

'Low risk' areas to be placed under modified general community quarantine: Palace 1
A barricade is set up to block the entrance to Banawe Street in Quezon City on May 11, 2020. Jonathan Cellona, ABS-CBN News

MANILA (UPDATE)- The entire Philippines will remain under community quarantine, albeit in different levels, until the end of May, Malacañang clarified Wednesday.

Areas classified as "low risk" for the coronavirus outbreak by the government's inter-agency task force (IATF) on pandemic response will be placed under modified general community quarantine starting May 16, Interior Secretary Eduardo Año said. 

Año said the task force would amend its May 11 resolution that stated that areas classified as "low risk" for the coronavirus outbreak would be "no longer under community quarantine" by May 16.

The resolution declared 37 provinces, and 11 cities, including the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao, as "low risk" areas which "shall no longer be under community quarantine, without prejudice to strict observation of minimum health standards."

Watch more News on iWantTFC

An amendment will come as local officials expressed apprehensions on the total lifting of community quarantine protocols in their area, Año said.

"Wala na po tayong area under Pilipinas na walang community quarantine," Año said in a Palace press briefing.

(All areas of the Philippines will have community quarantines.)

Health Secretary Francisco Duque III, whose signature was in the resolution, said there was an "honest mistake" as to the part that the community quarantine would be lifted in some areas.

Implementing a modified general community quarantine will allow local officials to keep powers to contain the spread of the virus in their respective jurisdictions, Año said.

"Magkakaroon pa rin ang ating local chief executives ng guideline paano nila ipapatupad ang modified GCQ para sa ganun ay may magagamit siyang kapangyarihan para matigil ang pag-spread ng virus sa mga lugar na meron pa," he added.

(Our local chief executives will have a guidelines how to implement a modified GCQ so that they can still have powers to contain the spread of the virus.)
The following are the areas earlier classified as "low-risk":

Region I - entire region

  • Ilocos Norte*
  • Ilocos Sur
  • La Union*
  • Pangasinan*
  • Dagupan City*

*Region IV-B - entire region

  • Marinduque
  • Occidental Mindoro
  • Oriental Mindoro
  • Palawan
  • Puerto Princesa City
  • Romblon 

*Region V - entire region

  • Albay*
  • Camarines Norte
  • Camarines Sur
  • Catanduanes
  • Masbate
  • Sorsogon
  • Legazpi City*
  • Naga City

*Region VI - entire region

  • Aklan
  • Antique
  • Capiz
  • Guimaras
  • Iloilo 
  • Iloilo City 
  • Negros Occidental 
  • Bacolod City

*Region VIII - entire region

  • Biliran
  • Eastern Samar
  • Leyte
  • Tacloban City
  • Northern Samar
  • Southern Leyte
  • Western Samar
  • Ormoc City

*Region X - entire region

  • Bukidnon
  • Camiguin
  • Lanao del Norte
  • Misamis Occidental 
  • Misamis Oriental 
  • Cagayan de Oro City

*Region XII - entire region

  • Cotabato (North Cotabato) 
  • Sarangani
  • South Cotabato
  • General Santos City
  • Sultan Kudarat

*Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao - entire region 

  • Basilan
  • Lanao del Sur
  • Maguindanao
  • Sulu
  • Tawi-tawi
  • Cotabato City
Watch more News on iWantTFC