Duterte appoints new members of consultative body on charter change

Dharel Placido, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Apr 11 2018 07:53 PM

MANILA - President Rodrigo Duterte has appointed two new members to the 25-man consultative committee on charter change.

Duterte appointed lawyer Jose Martin Azcarraga Loon and retired Navy Commodore Rex Cambronero Robles as new members of the body, headed by former Chief Justice Reynato Puno.

With the appointment of Loon and Robles, the President only needs three more people to complete the 25-man body.

Loon is one of the founding partners of law firm AYALA Law. He also served as senior aide and consultant to former senator and now Foreign Affairs Secretary Alan Cayetano.

Robles, on the other hand, served in the Philippine Navy and was a member of the Feliciano Commission that investigated the 2003 Oakwood Mutiny.

Since it buckled down for work, the consultative body has tackled proposed changes to the charter, including shifting to a presidential-federal form of government and regulating political dynasties.

Meanwhile, Duterte also issued another ad interim appointment for Agrarian Reform Secretary John Rualo Castriciones after he was bypassed by the Commission on Appointments.

The President also appointed former police and military officers Reuben Theodore Sindac and Oscar Lactao as board member of Chemfields Inc. and board member of Philippine Reclamation Authority, respectively.