DOJ holds 2nd preliminary hearing on 'rent-tangay' car scam

Ina Reformina, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Mar 31 2017 05:03 PM

The Department of Justice (DOJ) on Friday held its second preliminary investigation hearing on several complaints for large-scale estafa against suspects behind the so-called "rent-tangay" car rental scam.

Primary respondents Tychicus Nambio and Rafaela Anunciacion were present in the hearing; Anunciacion was able to submit 7 sets of counter-affidavits to refute the charges against her.

Nambio failed to submit his counter-affividavit due to non-receipt of the DOJ summons after his change of address. He and the other respondents were given up to April 10, the schedule for the next hearing, to submit the same.

The other respondents named in the complaints filed by the Philippine National Police Highway Patrol Group (PNP HPG) Unit 4-A, on behalf of the alleged victims, are Marilou Cruz, Bienvenido Cruz, Roberto Cruz, Jeffrey Reyes, Edgardo S. Ramos, Alfredo Ronuillo, Ravenal Quizon, Eleanor Constantino Rosales, and Lorena Adriano.

The victims come from different parts of the country.

The complaints alleged that respondents recruited car owners with the end goal of victimizing them through the scam, with interested car owners offered a P25,000 monthly rental for sedan, P35,000 monthly rental for AUVs, and P45,000 monthly rental for SUVs. After the conclusion of the agreement, the vehicles will be taken.

Unknown to the car owners, their vehicles were brought to different cities and municipalities, and loaned/pawned to individuals who also did not know of the scam. 

The loans ranged from P200,000 for sedan; P300,000 for AUVs and P400,000 for SUVs with a promise of a 5 percent monthly rebate or return of investment.

The preliminary investigation of the complaints were assigned to be handled by a panel of prosecutors namely, Senior Assistant State Prosecutor (SASP) Rosanne Balauag, chairperson; SASP Rex Gingoyon; Assistant State Prosecutor (ASP) Aristotle Reyes; ASP Rodan Parrocha; ASP Bryan Cacha, Jr.; ASP Anna Devanadera; ASP Jovyanne Escaño-Santamaria; Associate Prosecution Attorney (APA) II Wendell Bendovall; APA II Joan Garcia; and APA I Marc Tariga.