Obligation is to the people alone, Chief Justice Bersamin reminds journalists

Ina Reformina, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Mar 27 2019 04:34 AM

MANILA - Chief Justice Lucas Bersamin reminded reporters covering the Philippine justice beat that their duty is to the public, amid challenges facing journalists everyday.

The chief magistrate gave a brief speech after administering the oath for the new set of Justice Reporters Organization (JUROR) officers Tuesday night in Manila. 

“Congratulations to all of you… there is relative truth, there is fake truth, but please bear in mind always that whatever you write or you state in your programs or in your journalistic exercises, you will always be mindful that your obligation is to the people and to the people alone,” Bersamin said.

“Your respective organizations, your employers, are there only for a reason — to make your profession pay for your daily subsistence, but your mission should be the one that should guide you through all the problems,” he added.

The following are the new JUROR officers:

  • Bert Mozo, president
  • Boy Gonzales, vice-president
  • Moira Encina, secretary
  • Jun Samson, treasurer
  • Johnson Manabat, auditor
  • Dexter Ganibe, chairman of the board
  • Jerald Ulep, board director
  • Joyce Collantes, board director
  • Julius Gonzales, board director
  • Lorenz Tanjoco, board director
  • Mark Makalalad, board director
  • Virgil Lopez, board director
  • Sam Nielsen, board director
  • Ricky Brosas, board director
  • Carlo Mateo, board director

The organization’s advisers are Jomar Canlas, Cecille Villarosa, and Ina Reformina.

The oathtaking was also attended by former Chief Justice Teresita Leonardo-De Castro, Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra, incumbent and retired Supreme Court and Court of Appeals justices, Court Administrator Jose Midas Marquez, former Ombudsman Merceditas Gutierrez, former Commission on Elections Commisioner Lucenito Tagle, National Telecommunications Commission Commissioner Gamaliel Cordoba, Judicial and Bar Council Executive Committee head and former SC Associate Justice Jose Mendoza, JBC private sector representative and retired judge Toribio Ilao, trial court judges, Acting Prosecutor General Richard Anthony Fadullon, Public Attorney’s Office chief Persida Acosta, state and city prosecutors, and fellow media men, among others.

JUROR was formed by Manila Chronicle’s Atty. Bert Castro following the 1986 EDSA people power revolt. It was registered in 2000 by The Manila Times’ Canlas, who serves as its founding president.