Surigao suspends classes in 6 towns due to earthquake


Posted at Mar 05 2017 05:17 PM | Updated as of Mar 05 2017 06:30 PM

Cases fall while softdrink bottles are shattered in a warehouse in Kilometer 3, Barangay Luna. Photo courtesy of Jay-ar Camingue

MANILA -- Surigao del Norte Governor Sol Matugas has ordered to cancel classes in all levels in 6 towns on Monday after a magnitude 5.9 earthquake struck the province.

Classes have been suspended in the city and towns of San Francisco, Malimono, Taganaan, Sison, Mainit, and Surigao City.

The earthquake, which struck on Sunday morning, was also felt in parts of nearby Leyte province, the Philippine Institute for Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) said.