M6.7 quake strikes off Surigao City


Posted at Feb 10 2017 10:42 PM | Updated as of Feb 11 2017 05:51 PM

At least 3 people killed in Surigao City, AFP says

(2nd UPDATE) A magnitude 6.7 earthquake struck near Surigao City late Friday night, according to the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs).

The tremor, which was tectonic in origin, hit at a depth of 4 kilometers at around 10:03 p.m., Phivolcs said.

It also measured magnitude 6.7 in the readings of the United States Geological Survey.

The quake's reported intensities are:

  • Intensity VI - Surigao City and Pintuyan, Southern Leyte
  • Intensity V - Mandaue City, San Ricardo, Limasawa, and San Francisco, Southern Leyte
  • Intensity IV - Hinunangan, Southern Leyte, and Butuan City
  • Intensity III- Hibok-hibok, Camiguin, Tolosa and Tacloban, Leyte, Bislig City, Gingoog City, Misamis Oriental
  • Intensity II- Cagayan de Oro City, Talocogon City, Agusan del Sur, Dumaguete City, Cebu City

Instrumental intensities:

  • Intensity II- Bislig City
  • Intensity I- Cebu City and Cagayan de Oro City

Phivolcs said the quake is expected to cause damage and aftershocks.

The Pacific Tsunami Warning Center, meanwhile, said the tremor is not expected to trigger a tsunami.

M6.7 quake strikes off Surigao City 1

The 30th Infantry Battalion said there were three confirmed casualties of the earthquake in Suirgao City. 

The number does not include casualties from other towns affected by the earthquake.

Rescue efforts are also ongoing for an 86-year-old man trapped under his collapsed house in Surigao City.


Several aftershocks were also recorded after the main earthquake.

Based on seismic activities recorded by Phivolcs, 18 aftershocks were recorded so far in the region, with magnitudes ranging from 2.5 to 3.8.

The aftershocks were felt in various provinces within the Caraga region, including Surigao del Norte and Dinagat Islands.

For those affected by the Surigao earthquake you may contact the following hotlines for assistance:

PDRRMO-Surigao del Norte

CDRRMC-Surigao City