Orange rainfall warning up in 4 provinces: PAGASA


Posted at Jan 26 2019 08:33 PM | Updated as of Jan 27 2019 12:34 AM

MANILA (UPDATE)—State weather bureau PAGASA issued on Saturday night an orange rainfall warning over areas in four provinces due to the tail end of a cold front.

As of 11:45 p.m., PAGASA hoisted an orange rainfall warning over the following areas:

  • Lianga in Surigao del Sur
  • San Francisco, Loreto, Veruala, La Paz, Talacogon in Agusan del Sur
  • Laak, Montevista, Mawab, Nabunturan, New Bataan, Maragusan, Maco, Mabini in Compostela Valley
  • Sulu

The bureau said flooding is threatening low-lying and near-river channel areas, where 15 to 30 millimeters of intense rain will be observed in 1 hour and is expected to continue in the next 2 hours.

It earlier raised an orange rainfall warning over Davao Oriental but has since removed it.

PAGASA also issued a yellow rainfall warning over the towns of Kapalong, Talaingud, Asuncion, New Corella, Santo Tomas and Tagum City in Davao del Norte.

Light to moderate rains, which may persist for 2 to 3 hours, will affect parts of Camiguin and Davao City.

Four towns in Davao del Norte on Saturday carried out a preemptive evacuation after the Saug River overflowed and floodwater continued to rise because of heavy rainfall.

PAGASA advised residents and disaster officials to take appropriate action, monitor the weather condition and watch for the next advisory at 1:30 a.m. Sunday.