Palace declares Feb. 6 holiday in Lanao del Norte, several towns for Bangsamoro plebiscite


Posted at Jan 23 2019 04:36 PM

Voters gather around election officials to get their ballots at the Amai Pakpak Elementary School in Marawi City on Monday, Jan. 21, 2019. Froilan Gallardo, ABS-CBN News

MANILA - Malacañang on Wednesday said Feb. 6 has been declared as a special non-working day in Lanao del Norte and several towns in North Cotabato due to the plebiscite on the Bangsamoro Organic Law.

Towns included in Proclamation 656 are Aleosan, Carmen, Kabacan, Midsayap, Pikit, Pigkawayan, and Tulunan all in North Cotabato.

The city of Iligan, however, is not included in the holiday declaration in Lanao del Norte.

Last Jan. 21, the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM), Cotabato City and Isabela City, Basilan voted for the ratification of the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL).

The law seeks to install a Bangsamoro political entity in place of the ARMM. It is envisioned to grant wider self-rule to predominantly Muslim provinces and cities.

President Rodrigo Duterte is banking on the law's ratification to heal the "historical injustices" suffered by the Moros.