20 villages cleared to join Bangsamoro plebiscite

Christian V. Esguerra, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Jan 04 2019 01:11 PM

FILE PHOTO: Filipino Muslims hold a prayer rally at the Golden Mosque in Quiapo Manila on Friday, December 7, 2018 in support to the Bangsamoro Organic Law during the first day of campaigning for the Bangsamoro Organic Law plebiscite. ABS-CBN News

MANILA — The Commission on Elections (Comelec) has given the go-signal for 20 villages in North Cotabato to join the plebiscite for the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL).

These areas will join 39 other barangays in the province that will cast their vote on Feb. 6.

A separate Jan. 21 vote was set for the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM), Isabela City in Basilan, and Cotabato City.

Aside from North Cotabato, residents of Lanao del Norte, except for Iligan City, will also be covered by the Feb. 6 vote.

The BOL allows areas to file petitions for inclusion provided that they are “contiguous” to the core territory of the planned Bangsamoro Autonomous Region.

Comelec spokesman James Jimenez said Friday 24 petitions had been rejected for “failing to comply with the rules regarding voluntary inclusion” in the new region.

But the following barangays have been cleared to join the Feb. 6 plebiscite:

  • Libungan Torreta, Pigcawayan
  • Upper Pangankalan, Pigcawayan
  • Datu Mantil, Pigcawayan
  • Rajahmuda, Pikit
  • Barungis, Pikit
  • Gli-Gli, Pikit
  • Nalapaan, Pikit
  • Panicupan, Pikit
  • Langogan, Carmen
  • Nunguan, Pikit
  • Manaulanan, Pikit
  • Bulol, Pikit
  • Pebpoloan, Carmen
  • Kibayao, Carmen
  • Kitulaan, Carmen
  • Tupig, Carmen
  • Pagangan, Aleosan
  • Bualan, Pikit
  • Nabundas, Pikit
  • Simsiman, Pigcawayan