Duterte appoints 5 special envoys to China

Dharel Placido, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Jan 04 2018 05:17 PM | Updated as of Jan 04 2018 06:16 PM

Duterte appoints 5 special envoys to China 1

MANILA – President Rodrigo Duterte has appointed five special envoys to China, as Manila continues to improve its ties with Beijing long marred by a bitter dispute over South China Sea.

Appointment papers released by Malacañang Thursday showed that Duterte has named as his special envoys to China Fernando Selim Borja, Wallie Lee, Carlos Chan, Cheng Yong, and William De Jesus Lima.

Borja, Lee, Chan, and Lima, who had served as Duterte’s special envoys to China in the previous months, were given fresh terms from January 1 to June 30.

Yong will also serve for 6 months although the covered dates of his term were not indicated in his appointment paper.

Meanwhile, Duterte also reappointed Miguel Ayala as his special envoy to Australia. He will serve from January 1 to June 30.

Almarim Centi Tillah was also reappointed as special envoy of the President to the Organization of Islamic Cooperation and will serve from January 1 to December 31, 2018.

Duterte also re-appointed Century Properties Group Chairman and CEO Jose E.B. Antonio as his special envoy to the United States.

Century Properties is known for partnering with celebrities for its luxury developments. Aside from Trump Tower Manila, the company also built a condominium complex with a man-made beach designed by American socialite Paris Hilton.

Antonio served as special envoy to China in 2005 and founded the Philippines-China business council.