3 quakes hit Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte


Posted at Dec 12 2011 10:00 AM | Updated as of Dec 12 2011 06:00 PM

MANILA, Philppines – Three earthquakes hit the provinces of Dinagat Islands and Surigao del Norte before dawn Monday, the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) said.

The first quake, which has a magnitude of 3.8, occurred 54 kilometers (kms) northeast of Loreto town at 12:08 a.m. It has a depth of 43 kms.

At 1:12 a.m., a magnitude 3.8 quake with a depth of 30 kms took place 43 kms northeast of Loreto.

Meanwhile, a magnitude 2.5 quake with a depth of 11 kms struck 56 kms northeast of Burgos, Surigao del Norte at 1:39 a.m.

No aftershocks or damage were reported from the three quakes, which were all tectonic in origin.