Walang pasok: Class suspensions for Thursday, Dec. 4


Posted at Dec 03 2014 11:44 PM | Updated as of Dec 05 2014 03:52 AM

MANILA - (UPDATED) Here's a list of areas where class suspensions have been announced for December 4, Thursday, due to typhoon "Ruby."

In an update released Thursday morning, PAGASA said the typhoon was last spotted at 942 km east northeast of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur or 1,023 km east of Surigao City.

It is packing maximum sustained winds of 175 kilometers per hour (kph) near the center and gustiness of up to 210 kph.

It is forecast to move west northwest at 25 kph.

The following areas have suspended classes in all levels:

- Biliran Province (December 4 to 5)*
- Tacloban City (December 4 to 5, 2014)
- Catbalogan, Samar (Decemer 4 to 5, 2014)

*Culaba, Biliran suspension is on December 5, 2014 only

The following schools, colleges, and universities have also announced the suspension of classes:

-University of the Philippines Visayas (Tacloban) (Classes to resume December 11)

-Visayas State University (December 4 to 5)

According to the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council and PAGASA, more than 44 provinces have been declared as critical areas. These provinces are expected to experience heavy to intense rains and strong winds from 95 to 110 kph.

Meanwhile, the Department of Education (DepEd) reminded the public of the automatic suspension of classes in areas where public storm warning signals are raised. As of writing, no public storm signals have been raised due to typhoon Hagupit.

Classes in preschool are automatically suspended in areas under signal no. 1, classes up to high school are suspended in areas under signal no. 2, while classes in all levels are suspended under storm signal no. 3.