Storm signal 3 raised over 4 areas


Posted at Aug 26 2011 12:18 PM | Updated as of Aug 27 2011 05:02 AM

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATE) – Four areas are now under public storm signal no. 3 as typhoon “Mina” further intensified, weather bureau PAGASA said on Friday.

Public storm signal number 3 was hoisted over Isabela, Cagayan, Calayan, and Babuyan Group of Islands.

Meanwhile, the following areas were placed under public storm signals no. 1 and 2:

Signal no. 2:

  • northern Aurora
  • Quirino
  • Ifugao
  • Mt. Province
  • Kalinga
  • Apayao
  • Batanes Group of Islands

Signal no. 1:

  • Rest of Aurora
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Benguet
  • Ilocos Sur
  • Ilocos Norte
  • Abra

In its latest weather bulletin issued 11 a.m., PAGASA said Mina “intensified further and seriously threatens Northern Luzon Area.”

It was last spotted 150 kilometers (kms) east northeast of Casiguran, Aurora.

Mina was packing maximum sustained winds of 175 kilometers per hour (kph) with gustiness of up to 210 kph.

The typhoon was moving at a speed of 9 kph, and is expected to pass along the Northern tip of Cagayan by Saturday morning.

Mina’s had a diameter of 600 kms and was estimated to bring 15-25 millimeters per hour of rainfall.

PAGASA warned residents living in low-lying and mountainous areas under public storm warning signals to watch out for possible landslides and flashfloods.

Likewise, residents living in coastal areas were warned against big waves or storm surges generated by the typhoon.