Failure of elections in 4 Lanao del Sur towns


Posted at May 10 2010 01:49 PM | Updated as of May 11 2010 12:56 AM

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATE) - There has been a failure of elections in 4 municipalities in Lanao del Sur.

Lack of Board of Election Inspectors (BEIs) forced the towns of Sultan Dumalondong, Tubaran, and Masiu to have failure of elections, regional military commander Brigadier General Rey Ardo told

Meanwhile, a failure of elections was also declared in the town of Lumba-Bayabao because all the Precinct Count Optical Scan machines assigned to the town were non-operational, Ardo said.

Meanwhile, Commissioner Gregorio Larrazabal said the failure of the polls in the 4 towns are due to security concerns, and not due to the failure of the Precinct Count Optical Scan (PCOS) machines.

Larrazabal said the Armed Forces recommended the declaration of failure of polls in the area, but it won't be officially called a failure of elections until the poll body decides on it.