Gabby, Gina Lopez 'outstanding Manilans'


Posted at Jun 26 2009 08:13 PM | Updated as of Jun 27 2009 06:23 AM

MANILA - Two of ABS-CBN's top brass were awarded the "Outstanding Manilans Award" this year for exemplary performance in their chosen field.

Eugenio "Gabby" Lopez III and Regina "Gina" Paz-Lopez were among 11 awardees recognized for their extraordinary contributions to the city of Manila, in a ceremony held at the Manila Hotel on June 24.

Gabby Lopez was cited for his dynamic leadership in Telecommunications and Broadcasting as the director and treasurer of Benpres Holdings Inc., an investment holding company, under which ABS-CBN Broadcasting Corporation is an associate company.

Under his helm, the Filipino public here and abroad continue to be given the information they need for their daily life, livelihood opportunities, and numerous benefits under the Lopez companies' civic, cultural, charitable, and philanthrophic activities.

Meanwhile, ABS-CBN Foundation Managing director Gina Lopez was recognized for her outstanding environmental advocacy.

As the head of ABS-CBN's socio-civic arm, she has been instrumental in pushing forward projects like the "Kapit Bisig sa Ilog Pasig," a program that seeks to clean the Pasig River; the "Children's Village" project for underprivileged Filipino youth, and her "extensive and continuous search for ways to respond to Manila's crucial problems in the realm of waste management and environment conservation."

Paz-Lopez is the main driving force behind ABS-CBN Foundation's programs that address environmental and social problems. These include the Bantay Kalikasan, Bantay Bata 163, E-media, and the Bayan Foundation.

Other 2009 "Outstanding Manilans" winners include former President Corazon Aquino for Civil Leadership and Global Diplomacy; Ayala Land Corporation head Jaime Zobel de Ayala II for Entrepreneurial Leadership, "SM Malls" tycoon Henry Sy, Sr. for Business Development; Technical Institute of the Philippines President Dr. Teresita Uytepio-Quirino for Education; and, George S.K. Ty of Metrobank Foundation for Corporate Social Responsibility.

Rodolfo Noel "Jun" Lozada, Jr. was hailed as an "Advocacy of Truth," Sen. Manuel Villar, Jr. was recognized for public service, Marixi Rufino-Prieto was awarded for Print Media Advocacy, and broadcaster Miguel "Mike" Enriquez was cited for Public Service in Tri-Media.

Manila Mayor Alfredo L. Lim said that the annual "Outstanding Manilans Award" is meant as a gesture of gratitude for any individual born or residing in Manila, who has given the city prestige and honor. The awardees can be nominated by any person or group, and the award winners are given special medallions.

The event is held in lieu of the 438th celebration of "Araw ng Maynila" or "Manila Day" which commemorates the city's founding through the "Ynsigne e Siempre Leal Ciudad de Manila" on July 23 and the establishment of the first City Council (cabildo) by Miguel Lopez de Legazpi on July 24. is the online news department of ABS-CBN Interactive Inc., a subsidiary of ABS-CBN Broadcasting Corp.