House committee OKs renaming NLEX to Cory Aquino Expressway


Posted at May 10 2015 02:09 PM | Updated as of May 10 2015 10:09 PM

MANILA - A bill renaming the North Luzon Expressway (NLEX) to President Corazon C. Aquino Expressway (CAEX) has been passed at the committee-level at the House of Representatives.

"If favorably passed into law, it will constantly remind us of the noble deeds of the late President especially for the poor, and inspire our people to emulate her example of selfless service to the nation while her exceptional courage and leadership gave hope and united the Filipino people at a critical time in the country's history," said Nueva Ecija Rep. Magnolia Rosa Antonino.

NLEX was originally called the Manila North Diversion Road and Manila North Expressway (MNEX). It is officially known in government documents as Radial Road 8, the toll expressway linking Metro Manila to the provinces of the Central Luzon Region.

The 84-kilometer highway starts from Quezon City and passes through Caloocan City and Valenzuela City in Metro Manila, Meycauayan, Marilao, Bocaue, Balagtas, Guiguinto, Malolos, Plaridel and Pulilan in Bulacan, San Simon, San Fernando, Mexico, and Angeles City in Pampanga.

It ends in Mabalacat City in Pampanga and merges with the MacArthur Highway, continuing northward into the rest of Central and Northern Luzon.