SC allows Mikey's party to run in 2013


Posted at Dec 13 2012 05:58 PM | Updated as of Dec 14 2012 07:40 AM

MANILA, Philippines – The Supreme Court is allowing the group of former presidential son Juan Miguel “Mikey” Arroyo to run in the 2013 party-list election.

The SC, in their last full court session on Tuesday, granted Ang Galing Pinoy’s petition for a status quo ante (SQA) order against the Commission on Elections' ruling to disqualify them from joining next year's polls.

The court said it granted the motion so as not to deprive Ang Galing Pinoy a fair chance to campaign in the election until the court reaches a decision if it is qualified to join the list of accredited party-list groups.

Nine other groups were covered by the latest SQA. They are:

Philippine Association for Country - Urban Poor Youth Advancement Welfare (PACYAW),
1 – United Transport Coalition (1-UTAK),
Kalikasan partylist,

Association of Local Athletics Entrepreneurs and Hobbyists Inc. (ALA-EH),
Coalition of Association of Senior Citizens in the Philippines Inc. (Sr. Citizen),
1-Alliance Advocating Autonomy (1AAAP),

Abyan Ilonggo Party (AI),
Manila Teachers Savings and Loans Association Inc. (Manila Teachers), and
Partido ng Bayan ang Bida (PBB).

The order brings to 43 the total number of disqualified party-list groups covered by the SQA.

Commissioner Rene Sarmiento said almost all the members of the Comelec en banc, except for those overseas, voted to cancel Ang Galing Pinoy’s accreditation on the ground that its nominees for the 2013 elections do not represent marginalized sectors.

The party also allegedly does not have a track record of helping the sector it claims to represent. The party aims to represent tricycle drivers and security guards in Congress.

Ang Galing Pinoy also failed to show up during the Comelec's hearing on the screening of party-list groups.

Arroyo’s name is not included in AGP’s nominees. For 2013, their nominees are: Charlie Chua, Eder Dizon, Jerold Dominick David, Ryan Caladiao, Alan Trinidad, and Bernardo Corella Jr.

Arroyo is already a third-term congressman. He was district representative for the 2nd district of Pampanga for two terms before running under AGP in 2010.