Bautista, 48 other ranking AFP officials confirmed


Posted at Sep 04 2013 05:17 PM | Updated as of Sep 05 2013 05:39 PM

MANILA - The powerful Commission on Appointments (CA) today confirmed 49 ranking officials of the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), including military chief Gen. Emmanuel T. Bautista.

Also confirmed were Alan R. Luga as Lt. General; and Nicanor E. Dolojan, Leo Cresente M. Ferrer, Benito Antonio T. de Leon, Danilo M. Servando and Gregorio Pio R. Catapang Jr. as Major Generals.
Confirmed as Rear Admirals were Roberto V. Santos and Philip L. Cacayan while Edgar L. Abogado was confirmed as Vice Admiral.

The CA also confirmed as Brigadier Generals: Lysander A. Suerte, Aurelio Baladad, Isagani P. Silva, Glorioso V. Miranda, Jet B. Velarmino, Conrado V. Parra, Eliseo P Posadas, William P. Turalde, Orlando E. de Leon, Ricardo P. Visaya, Dante Costes, Luis C. Vinoya Jr and Bobby Calleja.

Confirmed as commodores were Reynald L. Yoma, Nodolfo V. Tejada and George F. Catameo.

Twenty colonels and three Navy Captains were also confirmed.

The commission deferred the appointment of Col. Eduardo Ano because Senator Sergio Osmena III, who wanted to ask more questions, could not make it to the hearing.

Ano is being tagged in the disappearance of farmer-activist Jonas Burgos, who has been missing since 2007.