Which lawmakers got the biggest pork?


Posted at Aug 17 2013 10:09 AM | Updated as of Aug 17 2013 06:09 PM

MANILA - Which lawmakers got the biggest pork from 2007 to 2009?

A special audit report of the Commission on Audit revealed former Compostela Valley congressman and now vice-governor Manuel "Way Kurat" Zamora received over P3 billion in pork barrel allocations from 2007-2009

In a press conference, COA Chairwoman Grace Pulido-Tan said at least 74 legislators exceeded their pork barrel allocations during the three-year period.

The COA chief explained each senator is given an annual allocation of P100 million for soft projects and P100 million for hard projects, or a total of P200 million.

On the other hand, congressmen and party-list representatives are given P30 million each for soft projects and P40 million each for hard projects, or P70 million yearly.

Only 4 senators had pork barrel allocations above P600 million from 2007-2009. They are then Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile (P904.5 million), Sen. Edgardo Angara (P862.645 million), Sen. Bong Revilla (P853 million) and Sen. Jinggoy Estrada (P825.150 million).

Other senators, including now President Benigno Aquino III, received less than the P600 million allocated to them.

Aside from the top 4, those who had the bigger allocations during the 3-year period are Senators Miriam Defensor Santiago (P551.850 million), Manuel Lito Lapid (P366.700 million), Alan Peter Cayetano (P351 million) and Juan Miguel Zubiri (P316.400 million).

Aside from Zamora, several congressmen had pork barrel allocations exceeding P210 million over the 3-year period.

They are:

1. Davao City 1st District Rep. Prospero Nograles P604.500 million

2. Surigao del Sur 1st District Rep. Prospero Pichay P300 million

3. Zambales 1st District Rep. Milagros Magsaysay P267.751 million

4. Quirino Rep. Junie Cua P248.910 million

5. Masbate 3rd District Rep. Rizalina Seachon-Lanete P233.550 million

6. Bulacan 2nd District Rep. Pedro Pancho P231.064 million

7. Malabon/Navotas Rep. Alvin Sandoval P230.950 million

8. Bulacan 4th District Rep. Relina Nicolas P230.790 million

9. Masbate 1st District Rep. Narciso Bravo Jr. P230.600

10. Quezon City 3rd District Rep. Matias Defensor Jr. P225 million

11. Sarangani Lone District Rep. Erwin Chiongbian P223 million

12. Pampanga 2nd District Rep. Juan Miguel Arroyo P220.500 million

13. Camarines Sur 4th District Rep. Felix Alfelor Jr. P220.300 million

14. Nueva Ecija 4th District Rep. Rodolfo Antonino P220 million

15. APEC party-list Rep. Edgard Valdez P215.950 million

16. Catanduanes Rep. Joseph Santiago P214 million

Click here to access the full COA report.

Camarines Sur Rep. Rolando Andaya, the budget secretary during the period, earlier said it is possible that some lawmakers got higher pork barrel allocations.

"In the past, there was no rule that you cannot exceed a certain amount," he told ANC.

Asked if one congressman got P3 billion pork, he said: "Not in a single release but probably in an aggregate amount. But yes, I would confirm that. All the records are there. Some legislators got more than others."

"Once approved, we are left to release these things to the legislators with the knowledge that all of these will be audited," he said.