Binay wins vice presidency

By RG Cruz, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Jun 07 2010 11:28 PM | Updated as of Jun 08 2010 05:29 PM

MANILA, Philippines - It’s just a formality now, but with just one last uncanvassed certificate of canvass left, Makati Mayor Jejomar Binay has virtually won the vice presidential race in the May 2010 elections.

Congressional Canvass tally, June 7, 2010

Binay wins vice presidency 1

Binay wins vice presidency 2

On Monday night, the Joint Committee of the Senate and House of Representatives, sitting as the National Board of Canvassers, finished all 277 certficates of canvass (CoC), except for those from the province of Lanao del Sur.

In that running tally, Binay led rival Mar Roxas by 611,955 votes.

The remaining uncanvassed CoC from Lanao del Sur, delayed by the special elections in the province held just last week, accounted for only over 365,000 votes.

Since the Lanao del Sur votes are less than the difference in the votes of the two bets, it is thus mathematically impossible to reverse the result of the vice-presidential polls.

The vice-presidential race became the more toughly contested battle as Benigno "Noynoy" Aquino III pulled away from his rivals early on in the presidential race.

As of Monday night’s tally, Aquino led his nearest rival, former President Joseph Estrada, by over 5 million votes.

On Monday, the Committee finished canvassing the previously overlooked CoC's of Eastern Samar, and deferred CoC's of Davao City, Bacolod City and the Mountain Province.

The committee decided to delay the proclamation of the new president and vice president to June 9 to allow the canvassing of the CoC's from Lanao del Sur on Tuesday and to provide ample time for the plenary to review the Joint Committee report on the canvass.

Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile and House Speaker Prospero Nograles assured their colleagues that they will not allow the proclamation to drag on until dawn of Tuesday, as did when it proclaimed President Arroyo in 2004. (Read: No Arroyo-like dawn proclamation—Enrile)