New Philippine Army chief named


Posted at May 06 2008 02:52 PM | Updated as of May 06 2008 10:52 PM

Defense Secretary Gilbert Teodoro on Tuesday named Lt. Gen. Victor Ibrado as the new Commanding General of the Philippine Army.

Ibrado, the current chief of the Armed Forces Central Command, replaces Lt. Gen Alexander Yano who is the new Armed Forces Chief of Staff.  Yano will take over from Gen. Hermogenes Esperon who retired on May 12.

Aside from Ibrado, Teodoro named five other military officers who will take over key positions in the AFP upon the recommendation of the AFP Board of Generals and the Secretary of National Defense.

Lt. Gen Cardozo M. Luna, commander of the Eastern Mindanao Command, is set to take over as AFP Vice Chief of Staff. He will replace Lt. Gen. Antonio L. Romero II who is set to go on vacation leave effective May 8 before his mandatory retirement on June 25.

Lt.Gen. Rodolfo F. Maclang, commander of the Northern Luzon Command, is the new incoming Deputy Chief of Staff, AFP, replacing Lt. Gen. Pedro Ike Inserto.

MGen. Armando Cunanan, Commanding General of the 8th Infantry Division, will take over as EastMinCom commander; M/Gen Isagani C. Cachuela will serve as NolCom commander and Lt.Gen. Pedro Ike Inserto will take over the AFP Central Command.