Why Tan is COA chief only until 2015


Posted at Apr 07 2011 11:42 AM | Updated as of Apr 07 2011 07:42 PM

MANILA, Philippines - Newly appointed Commission on Audit (COA) chairwoman Maria Gracia Pulido-Tan will only stay at her post for 4 years because she would only serve the remaining years of the term of her predecessor, Reynaldo Villar.

Deputy Presidential Spokesperson Abigail Valte said a COA chairman is usually given a 7-year term. In the case of Villar, he was already a COA commissioner for 4 years before he was appointed COA chief.

"The Constitution expressly prohibits any reappointment within the Commission. Since he had already served  four years as commissioner, he couldn't be given a fresh seven-year term, such that he was  only given the rest, iyong three, because had he been given a full seven years. That would have violated the prohibition on reappointment," Valte said. 

The Malacañang official said the 1987 Constitution ensures that COA positions would not be rendered vacant all at the same time.

"If you remember, iyong first appointees po under the  1987 Constitution had staggered terms. Iyong chairman then was appointed for 7 years, the other commissioner was appointed for 5 years, and the third was appointed  for a period of three. Every appointment, after that was for a full term of seven years. And this was to implement iyong staggered appointments nila just to make sure that there would be overlapping of terms para hindi po nababakante all at the same time iyong Commission on Audit."