24 schools to compete in PH robotics contest


Posted at Jun 08 2011 05:58 PM | Updated as of Jun 09 2011 02:00 AM

MANILA, Philippines - Twenty-four high schools in the country are set to compete in the newest robotics competition of the Department of Science and Technology - Science Education Institute (DOST-SEI).

Titled "Tagisang Robotics: Design, Build and Play," the contest aims to raise students' interest in science, engineering, technology, mathematics and information and communications technology, DOST-SEI said in a statement.

It takes inspiration from the Philippines' victory in the FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC) held in Honolulu, Hawaii in 2009. In the said contest, the country's contingent won the Rookie All Star Award and the Rookie Highest Seeded Award.

24 schools to compete in PH robotics contest 1
Students attended the Tagisang Robotics training and workshop held at the Philippine Science Centrum in Marikina City. Photo courtesy of DOST-SEI

"We want our students to develop logical and systematic thinking skills as they plan and build their robot in a specified time frame and widen their view of science and technology by giving them a chance to work with real life scientists, engineers and inventors," said DOST-SEI officer-in-charge and deputy director Dr. Leticia Catris.

"We have seen in the FRC experience that our students have the potential to excel in robotics. We hope that through Tagisang Robotics we can entice more students to explore their potential and bring about development in the country."

DOST-SEI said the 24 participating schools were chosen by the agency as these have prior experience in robotics. They are:

  • Bangkal High School
  • Benigno Aquino High School
  • Caloocan High School
  • Caruhatan National High School
  • Dr. Yanga's College
  • Grace Christian College
  • Hope Christian High School
  • La Salle Green Hills
  • Las Piñas Science High School
  • Makati Science High School
  • Mandaluyong High School
  • Manila Science High School
  • Muntinlupa Science High School
  • Parañaque Science High School
  • Pasay City Science High School
  • Pasig City Science High School
  • Philippine Science High School - Main Campus
  • Quezon City Science High School
  • Rizal National Science High School
  • Rizal High School
  • St. Paul College Makati
  • Taguig City Science High School
  • Tibagan High School
  • Valenzuela City Science High School

Ten students and one coach form one team, which will represent each school. They will all undergo an intensive training in robotics before they enter the competition, DOST-SEI said.

Each team will be given a standard kit during the contest's kickoff event at the SM Mall of Asia in Pasay City on July 28. They will then be asked to build their robots in the next 57 days.

On September 23, teams will be assigned to an "alliance" with other schools, and will compete with other alliances.

"Following the FRC model, the teams will be designated to other alliances until the top 4 teams emerge in the semifinals. The top 4 teams will be picking their allies for the semifinals and will be battling each other until they reach the finals," DOST-SEI said.

The Best Team, or the school with the highest seed, will win P100,000, P30,000 for the coach, a trophy and gold medals. The Best Alliance, meanwhile, will get P150,000, P30,000 for the coaches, trophies and silver medals.