PH overall champs in international math contest


Posted at Dec 05 2012 08:15 PM | Updated as of Dec 06 2012 04:15 AM

MANILA, Philippines -- A team of Filipino mathematicians was declared overall champion in an international math competition held in Lucknow, India from December 1 to 4.

The Philippine team won a total of 12 gold medals, one silver and two bronze medals.

They also bagged the overall performance champion and second runner-up awards in the Junior Level team contest.

PH overall champs in international math contest 1Members of the Philippine team show their medals and trophies at the IYMC awarding ceremony in Lucknow, India. Photo courtesy of MT

The Filipinos ended up taking first place overall at the 5th International Young Mathematicians' Convention (IYMC).

The Philippines was followed by host India with seven gold medals, Thailand with four golds, Taiwan with three golds and Indonesia with two golds.

"We are very proud of our contestants. It's truly a very memorable year for our math wizards," Dr. Simon Chua, president of the Mathematics Trainers Guild-Philippines (MTG), said in a statement on Wednesday.

Team leader Renard Eric Chua said the Filipino individual gold medalists are:

Gen Mark Veloso Tanno of Southville International School
Andrea Jessica Jaba of St. Jude Catholic School
John Aries Ceazar Hingan of San Beda College Alabang
Himig Marcos of Philippine Cultural College-Main

Jose Alfonso Ignacio Mirabueno of Philippine Science High School-Southern Mindanao
Dielle Tio of St. Stephen's High School
Jason Carlo Carranceja of Grace Christian College
Ethan Riley Chan of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School

Jervis Chua of Philippine Cultural College-Main
Raenelle Ean Ngo of Chiang Kia Shek College
Shawn Gabriele Cabanes of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
Lorenzo Magnaye of Philippine Science High School-Main

Jezariah Garcia of Valenzuela City Science High School, meanwhile, won a silver medal, while Claire Klemaine Dela Cruz of Integrated Montessori Center-Taguig and John Gedric Tudio of Marist School-Marikina each won a bronze medal.

In the Junior Level Team Competition, Philippine Team E, composed of Tanno, Hingan and Cabanes, was declared overall champion.

They were followed by CMS Gomti Nagar Campus of India as first runner-up and Philippine Team B composed of Jaba, Tio and Ngo as second runner-up.

Teams B and E earlier emerged as champions in their respective groups.

Team A, composed of Mirabueno, Chan and Garcia, won first runner-up in their group, while Team C, composed of Chua, Carranceja and Marcos, bagged second runner-up in their group.

In the Junior Relay contest, Team E won as champion while Team B got first runner-up. Team A bagged second runner-up in the Junior Math Quiz.

Other countries which participated in the contest were United Kingdom, Russia, South Africa, Qatar, Pakistan, Nepal, Malaysia, Kazakhstan, Iran, Bhutan, Nigeria and Sri Lanka.

The Philippine delegation will arrive in the country on Thursday afternoon.