Pinoy gets perfect score in Australian math contest


Posted at Oct 27 2015 12:09 PM

Pinoy gets perfect score in Australian math contest 1
The Filipino AMC medalists (top) and Prize Awardees (bottom) with AMT Executive Director Mike Clapper, MTG president Dr. Simon Chua and MTG business manager Dr. Isidro Aguilar. Photo courtesy of MTG

MANILA – A student of Colegio de San Juan de Letran in Manila got a perfect score in the 2015 Australian Mathematics Competition (AMC).

Grade 8 student Andres Rico Gonzales, 13, is one of the 42 students worldwide who got perfect scores among the 300,000 participants from 40 countries in this year’s AMC.

He joined the 97 other Filipino students who won awards in the contest.

An awarding ceremony led by Australian Mathematics Trust executive director Mike Clapper was held last October 23 at the Manila Grand Opera Hotel in Sta. Cruz, Manila.

Clapper awarded the 98 Filipino winners along with Andrew Hodges, first secretary of the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade; Dr. Simon Chua, Mathematics Trainers Guild-Philippines (MTG) president; Ruby Cristobal, head of the S&T Manpower Education Research and Promotion Division of the Department of Science and Technology-Science Education Institute; and Dr. Isidro Aguilar, MTG business manager.

“The 2015 AMC results showed that Filipino students continue to demonstrate remarkable competencies in the field of mathematics,” Chua said.

Gonzales received the AMC medal and the Peter O’Halloran Certificate of Excellence for getting a perfect score in the competition.

Other AMC medalists include Kyle Patrick Dulay of the Philippine Science High School-Main, Vince Jan Torres of Sta. Rosa Science and Technology High School and Farrell Eldrian Wu of MGC New Life Christian Academy.

Prize Awards winners include Nicholas Marcus Lua, Kei Hang Derek Chan and Alexandra Gochian of Saint Jude Catholic School; Raphael Dylan Dalida of St. Mary’s Academy-Pasay; Erin Christen Noceda of Special Education Center for the Gifted-Subic Bay; Filbert Ephraim Wu of MGC New Life Christian Academy; Annika Angela Mei Tamayo of Ateneo De Iloilo-SMCS; Frederick Ivan Tan of Xavier School; Bryce Ainsley Sanchez of Grace Christian College; Sean Ty of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School; and Clyde Wesley Ang of Chiang Kai Shek College.

Meanwhile, the 83 Filipino students who received the AMC High Distinction Award are:

Year 3 Middle Primary

Michaella Kisha Camba - Bolinao Integrated School-Pangasinan
Leon Chua - Mother Goose Special School System
Neo Gatbalayan - British School Manila
Alysa Corinne Llantero - De La Salle University Integrated School STC
Luigi Trevor Lui - Grace Christian College
Justin Miguel Ngo Grace Christian College
Matteo Sy - British School Manila

Year 4 Middle Primary

Theodore Abara - La Salle Green Hills
David Addison Calimlim - De La Salle University Integrated School STC
Marinoelle Castillo - Notre Dame of Greater Manila
Rovi Gabriel Dela Cruz - Pasig Catholic College
Armea Helena Sien Dimayacyac - Notre Dame of Greater Manila
Walsh Nico Letran - Saint Jude Catholic School
Hashanti Nikisha Liao - St. Stephen's High School
Lauren Reyes - Saint Jude Catholic School
Mico Xander Rubico - Calamba Elementary School
John Renzo Umadhay - SPED-Integrated School for Exceptional Children

Year 5 Upper Primary

Marianne Casugbo - Hua Siong College of Iloilo
Reginald Cedric Lim - Grace Christian College
Kian Colin Chua - Saint Jude Catholic School
Noel Stephen Dequito - Xavier School Nuvali
Ethan Cedric Jao - Saint Jude Catholic School
Sigfred Kerwayne Kwan - Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
Phoemela Ashley Talabucon - UP Integrated School
Chiara Bernadette Tan-Gatue - Saint Jude Catholic School
Cassidy Kyler Tan - Davao Christian High School
Sean Matthew Tan - Jubilee Christian Academy
Kristen Steffi Teh - Grace Christian College
James Martin Young - SPED-ISEC-Iloilo

Year 6 Upper Primary

Jedd-Sebastian Abrigo - Notre Dame of Greater Manila
Gabriel Alteza - Meridian International Learning Experience-QC
Adalbert Apuya - Aquinas University of Legazpi
Jodi Marcia Arcadio - Notre Dame of Greater Manila
Dominic Lawrence Bermudez - Notre Dame of Greater Manila
Jose Maria Bernardo II - Ateneo de Manila Grade School
Shawn Darren Chua - MGC New Life Christian Academy
Justin Teng Soon Khoo - Learning Circle-Olongapo City
Lance Heinrich Lim - Saint Jude Catholic School
Enrico Rolando Martinez - Xavier School
Rexza Mae Panaligan - Santa Barbara Central Elementary School-Iloilo
Jethro Asahel Roxas - Ann Arbor Montessori-Biñan
Trisha Danielle Sia - Chiang Kai Shek College
Keean Nathaniel Tang - UNO High School

Year 7 Junior

Immanuel Josiah Balete - St. Stephen's High School
Jhervey Edric Cheng - Chiang Kai Shek College
Vincent Dela Cruz - Valenzuela City Science High School
Naomi Anne King - Saint Jude Catholic School
Ryan-Jericho Sy - Chiang Kai Shek College
Oniluv Troy Tabujara - Falcon School
Gregory Charles Tiong - Saint Jude Catholic School

Year 8 Junior

Eion Nikolai Chua - MGC New Life Christian Academy
Fedrick Lance Lim - Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
Raymund Carlo Masbano - St. John’s Institute-Bacolod City
Andrei Raphael Mayuga - Colegio San Agustin-Makati
Marjana Ysabella Montanez - Philippine Science High School-Main
Stefan Marcus Ong - Saint Jude Catholic School
Andrhea Angelina San Gabriel - University of Baguio Science High School
Kathleen Ann Sison - Hua Siong College of Iloilo
Bert Joseph Tropicales - Philippine Science High School-Main
Jonathan Conrad Yu - Philippine Christian Gospel School

Year 9 Intermediate

John Michael Alarcado - Fountain International School-San Juan
Aeram Clester Albo - Quezon City Science High School
Vicente Raphael Chan - Zamboanga Chong Hua High School
Jinger Chong - Saint Jude Catholic School
Jan Joshua Cruz - Pasig Catholic College
Lawrence Gabriel Dy - CCF Life Academy Foundation
Christian Philip Gelera - Philippine Science High School-Main
Shamira Liao - St. Stephen's High School

Year 10 Intermediate

Christopher Banzon - Makati Science High School
Luke Matthews Bernardo - Philadelphia High School-Quezon City
Jaymi Mae Ching - Jubilee Christian Academy
Shaquille Wyan Que - Grace Christian College
Carl Joshua Quines - Valenzuela City Science High School
Isabel Jocyn Villanueva - PAREF Woodrose School
Makarios Joash Wee - Philippine Christian Gospel School-Cebu
Eason Wong - Philippine Cultural College-Caloocan

Year 11 Senior

Alfonso Miguel Abella - Grace Christian College
Sedrick Keh - Xavier School
Grant Aaron King - Grace Christian College
Kelsey Lim Tiong Soon - Grace Christian College
Gerrick Spencer Limsiy - Grace Christian College
Margarita Penson - Makati Hope Christian School
Hans Markson Tan - St. Stephen's High School