Cinemalaya 2010 names best films


Posted at Jul 20 2010 06:21 PM | Updated as of Jul 21 2010 06:37 PM

MANILA, Philippines - The winners of the 6th Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival and Competition were announced at ceremonies held last July 18 at the Cultural Center of the Philippines' (CCP) Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo.

The Best Film award for the New Breed Full Length Feature category went to Sheron Dayoc's Halaw, which depicts "the rigors and dangers that Filipinos go through in order to reach Sabah in search of greener pastures."

It was cited for "its mastery of the elements of filmmaking and meaningful narrative, and its powerful herald that Mindanao cinema has come of age.”

Cinemalaya 2010 winners: L-R: Pam Miras (Best Film, Wag Kang Titingin), Mark Meily (Best Film, Donor), Sheron Dayoc (Best Film and Best Direction, Halaw). Credit: Julio Sambayon


Halaw also won Best Direction for Sheron Dayoc, Best Performance of an Actor for John Arcilla, and Best Editing for Lester Olager and Chuck Gutierrez.

In the Short Feature category, Pam Miras' Wag Kang Titingin bagged the top prize.

The film is about "a girl's attempt beyond death and destruction to maintain for her younger sister a semblance of peace and order amid so much violence and conflict that seems the lot of today’s Filipinos.”

Mark Meily’s film, Donor, on the other hand, was awarded Best Film in the Directors' Showcase. 

The film is about a woman who was forced to donate a part of her body, and the "compromises and sacrifices that Filipinos go through to get out of the poverty trap."

Donor also won the following awards: Best Performance of an Actor (Baron Geisler), Best Performance of an Actress (Meryll Soriano), Best Performance of a Supporting Actress (Karla Pambid), and Best Production Design (Aped Santos).

Special Jury Prize

Sampaguita, a film by Francis Xavier Pasion, won the Special Jury Prize in the New Breed Full Length Category.

It was cited “for its effective and coruscating take on the lives of young sampaguita vendors that dot the urban landscape of poverty and squalor, for its powerful documentary realism, its touching poignancy and its gnawing humanity.”

In the Short Feature Category, the Special Jury Prize went to Rommel “Milo” Tolentino’s P, a coming-of-age story with a “humorous take on the joys and challenges of childhood.” Tolentino also won the award for Best Direction in this category.

Director Gil Portes gets the Special Jury Prize at Cinemalaya 2010 for his film Two Funerals. Credit: Julio Sambayon


The Special Jury Prize in the Directors Showcase went to Gil Portes’ Two Funerals. The film also won the Best Direction award for Portes, Best Screenplay (Enrique V. Ramos), and Best Cinematography (Arvin Viola) awards.

Other awards

Lovi Poe was given the Best Performance of an Actress In the New Breed Full Length Category for her role in Mayohan, a film by Dan Villegas and Paul Sta. Ana. Mayohan also won the Best Screenplay award (Paul Sta. Ana).

LJ Reyes, on the other hand, won the Best Performance of a Supporting actress award for her role in The Leaving, a film by Ian Dean Loreños.

For his role in Rekrut by Danny Añonuevo, actor Emilio Garcia was awarded the Best Performance of a Supporting Actor award.

Here are the other awards given by Cinemalaya:

New Breed Full Length Feature category:
Best Sound: Rekrut (Albert Michael Idioma)
Best Original Music Score: Mayohan (Emerzon Texon)
Best Production Design: The Leaving (Syrel Lopez and Ivan Zaldarriaga)
Best Cinematography: Mayohan (Dan Villegas) and The Leaving (Rommel Andreo Sales, Jr.).

Short Feature category:
Best Screenplay: Harang (Mikhail Red)

Directors' Showcase
Best Performance of a Supporting Actor: Tirso Cruz III (Sigwa by Joel Lamangan)
Best Editing: Chuck Gutierrez (Pink Halo Halo by Joselito Altarejos)

The Cinemalaya 2010 jury was composed of director Jose Javier Reyes, actor Ricky Davao, journalist Joselito Zulueta, Ishizaka Kenji, and Italo Spinelli.

Cinemalaya 2010, an all-digital film festival out to develop a new breed of Filipino filmmakers, was held from July 9-18, at the CCP. It was presented by Cinemalaya Foundation, CCP, Film Development Council of the Philippines and Econolink Investments.

Cinemalaya 2010 continues on at the UP Film Center's Cine Adarna in Diliman this July 20 to 30.

Dubbed "Cinemalaya Goes U.P. 6", the U.P. leg of Cinemalaya is presented by the UP Cineastes' Studio and Abracadabra, in partnership with the UP Film institute and in cooperation with the Cultural Center of the Philippines and Cinemalaya Foundation. Tickets will be sold at P80 each.