Jose Lacaba is 2013 UP Gawad Plaridel awardee


Posted at Jul 18 2013 03:49 PM | Updated as of Jul 18 2013 11:49 PM

Poet and journalist Jose Lacaba

MANILA -- Poet and journalist Jose Lacaba is this year's recipient of the UP Gawad Plaridel award.

The University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication (UP CMC) said it recognizes Lacaba, also known as Pete Lacaba, for his "unparalleled dedication" to his profession and his excellence in writing poetry, essay, fiction, feature articles, interviews, translations, adaptations, and screenplays in both English and Filipino.

"He also raised the bar of excellence for literary journalism to a level unprecedented in the history of Philippine contemporary journalism," the UP CMC said in a statement.

It added that Lacaba has put his considerable writing and communication skills, despite perils to his life, in the service of the Filipino struggle for social transformation, independence, and progress during the turbulent 1960s and 1970s through the Days of Disquiet, Nights of Rage collection and other articles and screenplays that were based on actual events and issues such as Sister Stella L., Bayan Ko: Kapit sa Patalim, and Orapronobis.

Lacaba will receive a trophy sculpted by National Artist Napoleon Abueva on July 24 at the UP Film Institute Film Center's Cine Adarna, where he will also deliver a lecture.

The trophy will be awarded to him by UP President Alfredo Pascual and UP Diliman Chancellor Caesar Saloma.

Lacaba joins past UP Gawad Plaridel awardees Eugenia Duran-Apostol (2004, print), Vilma Santos (2005, film), Fidela "Tiya Dely" Magpayo (2006, radio), Cecilia "Cheche" Lazaro (2007, television), Pachico Seares (2008, community print), Kidlat Tahimik (2009, independent filmmaking), Eloisa "Lola Sela" Canlas (2011, radio), and Florence "Rosa Rosal" Danon-Gayda (2012, television).

The annual UP Gawad Plaridel award recognizes Filipino media practitioners who have excelled in print, radio, film, television and new media, and have performed with the highest level of professional integrity in the interest of public service.

The award is named after Marcelo H. del Pilar (nom de plume, Plaridel), the selfless propagandist whose stewardship of the reformist newspaper La Solidaridad helped crystallize nationalist sentiments and ignite libertarian ideas in the 1890s.

Like Plaridel, the recipient of the award must believe in the vision of a Philippine society that is egalitarian, participative and progressive, and in media that is socially responsible, critical and vigilant, liberative and transformative, and free and independent.