Rodel Tapaya among CCP’s new 13 Artists


Posted at Jun 20 2012 01:20 PM | Updated as of Jun 20 2012 09:29 PM

Tapaya's grand prize-winning mural, "Baston ni Kabunian, Bilang Pero di Mabilang." Photo courtesy of APB Foundation

MANILA, Philippines – The Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) announced Wednesday the winners of the 2012 Thirteen Artists Award, which recognizes artists engaged in contemporary visual arts such as painting, printmaking and photography.

Among them is Rodel Tapaya, who recently mounted a solo exhibition at the Hong Kong International Fair. Last year, he won the Signature Art Prize given by the Asia Pacific Breweries Foundation and the Singapore Art Museum.

Also included in the list are Signature Art Prize participants Jan Leeroy New and Wawi Navarroza, and artists Joey Cobcobo, Marina Cruz, Kiri Dalena, Riel Hilario, Robert Langenegger, Michael Muñoz, Kaloy Olavides, Renan Ortiz, Mark Salvatus and Costantino Zicarelli.

They each received a cash grant and will be formally awarded on October 18.

New's "Balete," one of the entries in the Signature Art Prize. Photo courtesy of APB Foundation

The Thirteen Artists Award was first conceived by the CCP in 1970 as a curatorial guide for an exhibition organized by then CCP museum director Roberto Chabet. It was later adopted as a biennial award.

In a statement, the CCP said the Thirteen Artists Award is the oldest award conferred by the organization, two years ahead of the National Artist Award, which began in 1972.

The Thirteen Artists Award has been a triennial award since 2009 and is administered by the CCP’s visual arts and museum division.