3 ABS-CBN reporters awarded for Yolanda coverage


Posted at May 19 2014 04:56 PM | Updated as of May 20 2014 12:56 AM

3 ABS-CBN reporters awarded for Yolanda coverage 1
ABS-CBN News reporter Atom Araullo

MANILA – Three news reporters from ABS-CBN have been proclaimed winners in the SUPER (Salute to Unparalled People, Endeavours and Resources) Awards, which aims to recognize journalists who risked their lives while covering the wrath of super typhoon Yolanda (Haiyan) in November 2013.

“TV Patrol” anchor Ted Failon, “Umagang Kay Ganda” host Atom Araullo and Ranulfo Docdocan of ABS-CBN Tacloban will join 17 other members of the media in receiving their SUPER Awards in a ceremony to be held Monday night at the SMX Convention Center in Pasay City.

Other winners include Love Anover, Jiggy Manicad and Micael Papa of GMA 7; Joecel Huesca of GMA Iloilo; Greggy Magdadaro of GMA Cebu; Benjie Dorango and Erwin Tulfo of TV5; David Santos of Solar News; DJ Yap of Philippine Daily Inquirer; Tara Yap of Manila Bulletin; Lelaine Jimenea of The Philippine Star; Lorelei Salarda of DYBR Tacloban; Jazmin Bonifacio of DYDW; Jimmy Angay-angay of DZRH; Joey Gabieta of LSDE; Jamela Alindogan of Al Jazeera; and Andrew Stevens of CNN.

Awards will also be given posthumously to three members of the media who passed away while on active duty when Yolanda made landfall. They are Archie Globio of DYBR Tacloban, and Ronald Vinas and Allan Medino of DYVL Tacloban.

The SUPER Awards is sponsored by SM Foundation Inc. (SMFI).

“Some media people sacrificed their lives in the line of duty. While they knew of the potential danger that the typhoon was bringing before it hit the country, they persisted and covered the event. We now want to honor the select men and women of media for stepping forward with such dedication and unparalleled courage,” said SMFI executive director Debbie Sy.