Lualhati Bautista, Kenneth Cobonpue, Alice Guillermo among 2020 CCP awardees


Posted at Jul 05 2020 07:08 PM

MANILA - Writer Lualhati Bautista, designer Kenneth Cobonpue and Dr. Alice Guerrero-Guillermo are among the 12 awardees for this year's Gawad CCP Para sa Sining, the Cultural Center of the Philippines announced Sunday.

Bautista is known for her novels such as "Dekada '70", and "Bata, Bata Pa'no Ka Ginawa?", while Cobonpue is known for his signature designs using natural fibers and materials.

Guillermo, an art critic and art historian, was known for her books and essays on art history, art criticism and cultural studies. 

Also included in the list of awardees are the following:

  • Rafael Catalino "Nonoy" Froilan for Dance
  • Raul M. Sunico for Music
  • Felix "Nonon" Padilla for Theater
  • Luis "Junyee" Yee, Jr. for Visual Arts
  • Lualhati Bautista for Literature
  • Clodualdo “Doy” del Mundo, Jr. for Film and Broadcast Arts
  • Cristina Turalba for Architecture
  • Kenneth Cobonpue for Design
  • Integrated Performing Arts Guild (IPAG) for Culture of its Region
  • Nestor Horfilla for Cultural Work and Research
  • Liwayway Magazine for Development of Philippine Culture
  • Antonio Fabella for Dance (Posthumous)
  • Alice Guillermo for Cultural Research (Posthumous)

The Gawad CCP Para sa Sining award, the highest award given by the CCP, is given to individuals or groups in recognition of their "outstanding achievements and contributions to Philippine arts and culture."

The award is given every three years.