Miss Universe judges named


Posted at Jan 26 2017 09:16 AM | Updated as of Jan 26 2017 11:20 AM

MANILA (UPDATED) – The full list of judges for the 65th Miss Universe pageant has finally been revealed.

Included in the panel for the coronation night are former Miss Universe winners Dayanara Torres, Sushmita Sen, and Leila Lopes.

Torres, who was crowned in 1993, arrived in Manila on Tuesday and was ecstatic to be back in the Philippines.

“It’s great to be a judge. This is my third time actually being a judge. It’s fun. It’s definitely less nerve-wracking because you’re not the one standing on stage. You’re only judging. But hopefully, we’ll find the perfect girl for the job,” she said.

Sen, on the other hand, will be arriving in the country on Thursday, 23 years after she was crowned as Miss Universe in the Philippines 1994.

“I am so excited, emotional and looking forward to returning home to the Philippines after 23 years. It’s where it all began. Life comes full circle from winning Miss Universe to having owned its Indian Franchise to now…returning back to Manila this time as a judge,” she wrote on Instagram.

Meantime, Lopes, who won the Miss Universe in 2011, said on social media that she is already excited to come to the Philippines.

Aside from the three former Miss Universe winners, also part of the judges’ panel are fashion magazine editor Mickey Boardman, television star Cynthia Bailey, as well as social entrepreneur Francine LeFrak.

Miss Universe also announced that some of the finals judges will also be judging in the preliminary competition.

Included in the list of preliminary judges are Torres, Bailey, LeFrak, former journalist Rob Goldstone, president of the People's Choice Awards Fred Nelson and Miss Universe 2007 Riyo Mori.