BLOC VOTE: Presidents backed by Iglesia Ni Cristo

Photo from

1965, 1969, 1981, 1986 elections - Ferdinand Marcos

The INC endorsed the candidacy of Ferdinand Marcos, who served as president from 1965 to 1986.

In the 1965 elections, Marcos won with 3,861,324 votes, defeating re-electionist Diosdado Macapagal and Raul Manglapus.

In the 1969 elections, Marcos got 5,017,343 votes and won against contender Sergio Osmeña Jr.

In the 1981 elections, Marcos earned 18,309,360 votes, defeating his opponents, Alejo Santos and Bartolome Cabangbang, among others.

Finally, in the 1986 elections, Marcos allegedly defeated Corazon Aquino in highly-disputed results, but the latter was later sworn in as President through people power.

Share your views