'Duterte Cabinet 80 pct complete'

Dharel Placido, ABS-CBN News

DAVAO CITY (UPDATED) - The composition of the Cabinet of president-elect Rodrigo Duterte is "80 percent complete," according to his top aide.

Christopher Go told reporters on Tuesday that Duterte is having a hard time finding people who would be placed in sensitive government posts.

Go said this includes the position of the environment secretary that was offered to the Left. The National Democratic Front initially named Bayan Muna Rep. Carlos Zarate, who reportedly begged off.

"Pinag-aaralan ni mayor lahat iyan. Pinagpipilian ni mayor iyung the best atsaka with his trust and confidence," Go said.

He said even Duterte may hold a Cabinet position himself.

"It's possible but maybe [a post that is] direct to him, especially his main concern is peace and order. Magiging hands-on siya dyan," Go said.

Duterte is set to hold a meeting with his chosen Cabinet members Tuesday at the Department of Public Works and Highway's compound in Barangay Panaca.

READ: Duterte's KKK: Kababayan, kaklase, kasama

As early Tuesday night, incoming Foreign Affairs chief Perfecto Yasay, Education chief Leonor Briones, Peace Process adviser Jesus Dureza, Labor chief Bebot Bello, Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea, Agriculture chief Manny PiƱol, Agrarian reform chief Rafael Mariano, and National Security Adviser Hermogenes Esperon have arrived for the meeting.

Former Maribojoc, Bohol Mayor Jun Evasco also arrived. He was offered the post of Secretary to the Cabinet but refused to answer questions on whether he has accepted Duterte's offer.

Duterte initially wanted Evasco as Interior and Local Government chief but said his past as a communist rebel makes him unsuitable for the post.

An "attendance sheet" released by the Office of the Davao City Mayor also gave a glimpse of the possible additional members to the Duterte Cabinet.

The list includes prospective appointments to certain departments and agencies which the Duterte camp have yet to formally announced.

Some of the names included in the list were Miguel Delfin Lorenzana for the Department of National Defense and Mike Sueno for the Department of the Interior and Local Government.